Impeachment 2.0: House Dem Files Resolution Calling For AG Bill Barr To Be Impeached

House Democrats are again calling for impeachment — but this time, they want Attorney General William Barr removed from his position.

Tennessee Democratic Rep. Steve Cohen filed a resolution on Tuesday calling for the impeachment of Barr.

House Resolution 1032, filed by Cohen, accuses Barr of using his job to pursue political goals.

“Today, I introduced #HRes1032, which would authorize an impeachment inquiry into Attorney General Barr,” Cohen wrote on Twitter. “He has politicized the DOJ, undermined the rule of law, abused his power, obstructed justice & violated the first amendment. He is not fit to be Attorney General.”

“This measure calls upon @HouseJudiciary to open an inquiry into AG Barr under the same House rules applied during the #ImpeachmentInquiry into President Trump last year. Congress is a co-equal branch of government and must hold #BillBarr accountable,” he added in a second tweet.

“Cohen specifically cited Barr’s role in Justice Department decision to change sentencing recommendations for former Trump adviser Roger Stone — who was convicted on charges of obstruction, lying to Congress and witness tampering – and Barr’s role in the removal of protesters from Lafayette Square near the White House on June 1, prior to a Trump photo-op outside St. John’s Episcopal Church,” Fox News reported.

The resolution is supported by over a dozen Democrats.

“The resolution is cosponsored by the following members of Congress: Joyce Beatty (OH-3), Don Beyer (VA-08), Earl Blumenhauer (OR-03), Andre Carson (IN-07), David Cicilline (RI-01), Lacy Clay (MO-01), Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Jim Cooper (TN-05), Danny Davis (IL-07), Adriano Esplillat  (NY-13), Dwight Evans (PA-03), Chuy Garcia (IL-04), Al Green (TX-09), Raul Grijalva (AZ-03), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Joe Kennedy  (MA-04), Brenda Lawrence (MI-14), Ted Lieu (CA-33), Alan  Lowenthal (CA-47), Gregory Meeks (NY-05), Richard Neal (MA-01), Ilhan Omar (MN-05), Bill Pascrell (NJ-09), Ed Perlmutter (CO-07), Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Bobby Rush (IL-05), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Eric Swalwell (CA-15), Mark Takano (CA-41), Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Nydia M.  Velázquez (NY-07), Maxine Waters (CA-43), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), John Yarmuth (KY-03),” the resolution states.

Last week, House Speaker Nancy Pelosi downplayed the idea of impeaching Barr.

During a virtual event hosted by the Washington Post, Pelosi rejected the possibility that House Democrats would impeach Barr after some Democrats alleged he took political considerations in handling cases related to President Donald Trump.

“A hundred and thirty-one days from now, we will have the solution to many problems, one of them being Barr,” Pelosi said, adding that she thinks Barr is a “disgrace to the Department of Justice.”

“At this point, let’s solve our problems by going to the polls and voting on Election Day, 131 days from now,” Pelosi said.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments